Ambassador logoCustomer referral software

ViralPayouts vs Ambassador

ViralPayouts has no monthly fee, pays your affiliates for you and pays recruiters on every program. You pay 10% of what you pay partners, falling to 3%, and nothing in a month when nobody sells. With Ambassador, paying affiliates for you is optional or extra and offers multi-tier commissions. It costs $100 to $1,250 a month.

Every figure for Ambassador comes from its own pages or named review sites, checked 12 October 2026. Sources are listed at the bottom.

Why brands pick ViralPayouts over Ambassador

Best fit: A brand that wants a two-level creator/affiliate program running without upfront cost, with payouts handled for it and partners discovering the program through a directory.

  • $0 a month

    No plan and no setup fee. 10% of what you pay partners, falling to 3% at $10,000 a month.

  • Payouts done for you

    One invoice per program. ViralPayouts sends every partner and recruiter their money and collects tax forms.

  • Recruiters built in

    Customer links and recruit links on every program, with the override set your way and reversed on refunds.

Start a program free

Side by side

AmbassadorViralPayouts
Price$100 to $1,250 a monthTerm: Not stated on pricing page; Vendr lists plans on a 1-year term and Capterra reviewers mention annual commitments$0 a month. 10% of what you pay partners, falling to 3% at $10,000 a month.
Setup feeOne-time onboarding: $500 (Professional), $1,500 (Enterprise)None
Fee for paying affiliatesNot statedIncluded in the fee above: no charge to the brand for sending payoutsPartners pay Whop's own fee when they withdraw to their bank
Pays your affiliates for youOptionalvia PayPalYes You fund by bank transfer; we pay every partner
Two-tier recruitingYesUnlimited ("Number of Tiers" setting; 0 = no cap) levelsYes Two levels on every program: share of commission, share of sale or fixed. Paid on approved sales, never sign-ups
Public program directoryNoYes Partners browse and join with one account
Trackingreferral links / short URLs; API event tracking; CRM/CDP event triggers; Salesforce managed packageFirst-party links with click IDs, signed server-to-server events, Stripe Checkout webhook
Coupon trackingNot statedYes A code per partner, per program
Mobile app trackingPartlyApp installs, sign-ups and purchases reported from your server through the signed event API, with bounties on them. No SDK to ship in your app.
API, webhooks, MCPAPIREST API for brands and partners with an OpenAPI spec, an MCP server for AI agents, a signed event API and partner postbacks
IntegrationsSalesforce (managed package, bi-directional sync), HubSpot, Shopify, Klaviyo, Tray.ai connectorStripe Checkout, Shopify orders, any backend via the event API
Ambassador plans in full
  • Advocacy (referral) Professional: $125 a month. 500+ contacts, 1-3 campaigns
  • Advocacy (referral) Enterprise: $1250 a month. 10,000+ contacts, unlimited campaigns
  • Loyalty Professional / Enterprise: $125 a month. Enterprise is $1,250/month
  • Communication (email/SMS) Professional / Enterprise: $100 a month. Enterprise $500/month; messages billed on usage
  • Incentives Professional / Enterprise: $100 a month. Enterprise $500/month, starts at $1M+ incentives per year
  • Predictive/Recommendation add-on: $100 a month.
Pricing source

Where ViralPayouts comes out ahead of Ambassador

What Ambassador offers

Enterprise and upper mid-market revenue teams, mainly telecom/MVNO, fintech/financial services and SaaS, running referral, affiliate, influencer, loyalty and customer-feedback programs. Its own comparison page says it fits programs above $500K/year in attributed revenue.

Customer referral software · G2 4.5 (75 reviews) · Capterra 4.1 (26 reviews)

Why ViralPayouts is the better choice

  • No monthly fee or onboarding fee: pay 10% falling to 3% of partner payouts only when partners earn, versus $125-$1,250/month per module plus $500-$1,500 onboarding
  • Payouts handled for the brand via Whop on every program; Ambassador automated payouts need a paid tier and are PayPal-centric
  • Separate customer link and recruit link with a recruiter override set per program, out of the box
  • Public directory where partners find and join programs with one account

What Ambassador users say

Paraphrased from public reviews. Follow each link to read the original.

Praise

  • Flexible campaigns with API and webhooks; supports multiple campaigns with dashboards for referrers and managers. capterra.com
  • Automated commission payouts help programs scale. capterra.com
  • Helpful onboarding and support. capterra.com

Complaints

  • Priced at a premium with annual commitments; one reviewer hit a large price increase. capterra.com
  • Setup can need a developer; Salesforce deployment was complex. capterra.com
  • Payouts limited to PayPal; reviewer wanted tax form tracking. capterra.com
  • Several 1-star reviews cite sales practices, billing disputes and slow support. capterra.com

About Ambassador

In their words:
"The Customer Lifecycle Operating System" (H1; tagline "The last asset worth owning.")
Company:
Seattle, WA · Independent; acquired from Intrado in 2021 (holding company i2H led by CEO Geoff McDonald). Originally Detroit startup (formerly Zferral, TechStars NY 2011, founder Jeff Epstein), bought by Apollo-owned West Corp in Oct 2018.
Funding:
$7M round in 2025; $11M total to date (GeekWire)
Team:
22 employees (GeekWire, 2025)
Named customers:
Visible by Verizon, CIBC, Rippling, Kaplan, Rover, Sparklight, Astound

Try ViralPayouts on test money

Set your commission and recruiter override, see what each sale costs you, and run it on the test network before a real partner joins. No monthly fee.