SendOwl logoCreator and checkout platform

ViralPayouts vs SendOwl

ViralPayouts has no monthly fee, pays your affiliates for you and pays recruiters on every program. You pay 10% of what you pay partners, falling to 3%, and nothing in a month when nobody sells. With SendOwl, you pay your affiliates yourself and does not say it has two-tier recruiting. It costs $39 to $299 a month.

Every figure for SendOwl comes from its own pages or named review sites, checked 12 October 2026. Sources are listed at the bottom.

Why brands pick ViralPayouts over SendOwl

Best fit: A seller who already has a checkout (e.g. Stripe) and wants affiliates paid for them, with partners recruiting partners, without a subscription.

  • $0 a month

    No plan and no setup fee. 10% of what you pay partners, falling to 3% at $10,000 a month.

  • Payouts done for you

    One invoice per program. ViralPayouts sends every partner and recruiter their money and collects tax forms.

  • Recruiters built in

    Customer links and recruit links on every program, with the override set your way and reversed on refunds.

Start a program free

Side by side

SendOwlViralPayouts
Price$39 to $299 a month$0 a month. 10% of what you pay partners, falling to 3% at $10,000 a month.
Setup feeNot statedNone
Fee for paying affiliatesNone from SendOwl (it never moves money); PayPal Payouts fees apply if used.Included in the fee above: no charge to the brand for sending payoutsPartners pay Whop's own fee when they withdraw to their bank
Pays your affiliates for youNovia Merchant's own PayPal Business accountYes You fund by bank transfer; we pay every partner
Two-tier recruitingNot stated1 levelsYes Two levels on every program: share of commission, share of sale or fixed. Paid on approved sales, never sign-ups
Public program directoryNoYes Partners browse and join with one account
TrackingAffiliate Site links; JavaScript tracking script on your own site carrying the referral into SendOwl checkoutFirst-party links with click IDs, signed server-to-server events, Stripe Checkout webhook
Coupon trackingNot statedYes A code per partner, per program
Mobile app trackingNot statedApp installs, sign-ups and purchases reported from your server through the signed event API, with bounties on them. No SDK to ship in your app.
API, webhooks, MCPNot statedREST API for brands and partners with an OpenAPI spec, an MCP server for AI agents, a signed event API and partner postbacks
IntegrationsStripe, PayPal, Shopify, SquareStripe Checkout, Shopify orders, any backend via the event API
SendOwl plans in full
  • Launch: $39 a month. 5,000 orders and $10,000 sales per year, 10 GB bandwidth/mo
  • Grow: $87 a month. 25,000 orders and $36,000 sales per year, 20 GB/mo
  • Scale: $159 a month. 50,000 orders and $100,000 sales per year, 50 GB/mo, priority support
  • Business: $299 a month. From $299; up to $200k sales
Pricing source

Where ViralPayouts comes out ahead of SendOwl

What SendOwl offers

Creators and small businesses selling digital downloads, subscriptions and memberships who want a hosted checkout with delivery; affiliate tracking is a built-in feature of the checkout.

Creator and checkout platform · Trustpilot 1.6 (158 reviews)

Why ViralPayouts is the better choice

  • ViralPayouts pays partners for the brand; SendOwl only prepares a PayPal file you upload yourself
  • Two-level recruiter override; SendOwl is single-level
  • No monthly fee vs $39-$299/mo with sales caps
  • Public program directory and REST API + MCP server

What SendOwl users say

Paraphrased from public reviews. Follow each link to read the original.

Praise

  • 66% of Shopify App Store ratings are 5-star (61 of 92); affiliates included on every plan with no transaction fees. apps.shopify.com

Complaints

  • 2025 switch from per-transaction pricing to $39+/mo plans; one user went from about $15 to $175/mo (Jun 2025). apps.shopify.com
  • Price rose from $39 to $599 with one month's notice; mobile interface broken (Dan Buttner, Apr 2025). trustpilot.com
  • Charged monthly after closing the account, with no record or cancel option (Oct 2026). trustpilot.com
  • Subscriptions can't be cancelled in the account panel; must email support (Oct 2025). apps.shopify.com

About SendOwl

In their words:
"Sell anything digital - simply, securely, reliably"
Company:
Founded Shopify app launched 29 Jun 2012; site says "for more than a decade" · United States (Trustpilot contact info)
Website:
sendowl.com

Try ViralPayouts on test money

Set your commission and recruiter override, see what each sale costs you, and run it on the test network before a real partner joins. No monthly fee.

Sources for SendOwl (7), checked 12 October 2026

SendOwl is a trademark of its owner. ViralPayouts is not affiliated with SendOwl. Prices and features change: check sendowl.com before you decide. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.