Skool logoCreator and checkout platform

ViralPayouts vs Skool

ViralPayouts has no monthly fee, pays your affiliates for you and pays recruiters on every program. You pay 10% of what you pay partners, falling to 3%, and nothing in a month when nobody sells. Skool also pays affiliates for you and has no two-tier recruiting. It costs $9 to $99 a month + 2.9% to 10% of transactions.

Every figure for Skool comes from its own pages or named review sites, checked 12 October 2026. Sources are listed at the bottom.

Why brands pick ViralPayouts over Skool

Best fit: Brands that want external creators/affiliates plus recruiters promoting a product sold off-Skool, with payouts handled for them.

  • $0 a month

    No plan and no setup fee. 10% of what you pay partners, falling to 3% at $10,000 a month.

  • Payouts done for you

    One invoice per program. ViralPayouts sends every partner and recruiter their money and collects tax forms.

  • Recruiters built in

    Customer links and recruit links on every program, with the override set your way and reversed on refunds.

Start a program free

Side by side

SkoolViralPayouts
Price$9 to $99 a month + 2.9% to 10% of transactions$0 a month. 10% of what you pay partners, falling to 3% at $10,000 a month.
Setup feeNot statedNone
Fee for paying affiliatesNone stated for affiliate payouts; payouts in local currency with 'no additional fees for currency conversion'. Optional Growth Boost: Skool takes a 30% commission on members it brings via Discovery/off-site ads.Included in the fee above: no charge to the brand for sending payoutsPartners pay Whop's own fee when they withdraw to their bank
Pays your affiliates for youYesvia Skool (merchant of record) via Stripe Express; KYC ID verification requiredYes You fund by bank transfer; we pay every partner
Two-tier recruitingNo1 levelsYes Two levels on every program: share of commission, share of sale or fixed. Paid on approved sales, never sign-ups
Public program directoryYesYes Partners browse and join with one account
Trackingmember referral link to group or courseFirst-party links with click IDs, signed server-to-server events, Stripe Checkout webhook
Coupon trackingNot statedYes A code per partner, per program
Mobile app trackingNot statedApp installs, sign-ups and purchases reported from your server through the signed event API, with bounties on them. No SDK to ship in your app.
API, webhooks, MCPNot statedREST API for brands and partners with an OpenAPI spec, an MCP server for AI agents, a signed event API and partner postbacks
IntegrationsZapier (Pro only): new paid member, membership answers, invite member, unlock courseStripe Checkout, Shopify orders, any backend via the event API
Skool plans in full
  • Hobby: $9 a month, plus 10% of transactions. Unlimited members/courses; 10% + 30c per transaction. Member affiliates NOT available (Pro only).
  • Pro: $99 a month, plus 2.9% of transactions. 2.9% + 30c per transaction up to $899; 3.9% + 30c above $900. Member affiliates, Zapier plugin included.
Pricing source

Where ViralPayouts comes out ahead of Skool

What Skool offers

Creators, coaches and experts running paid or free online communities with courses, events and gamification, who want members to refer new members.

Creator and checkout platform · Trustpilot 1.6 (54 reviews)

Why ViralPayouts is the better choice

  • Two levels (partner + recruiter override); Skool is single-level member referral only.
  • Brands can recruit outside partners/creators, not just existing members, and set rates per program.
  • No monthly fee: ViralPayouts charges 10% falling to 3% of partner payouts only, vs Skool's $99/month Pro plan required for affiliates.
  • Works with any product via redirect links, S2S event API and Stripe Checkout webhook; Skool has no public API.

What Skool users say

Paraphrased from public reviews. Follow each link to read the original.

Praise

  • Affiliate system is fully automated end to end: commissions tracked, held 14 days and paid out weekly with no owner admin. help.skool.com
  • Course-level affiliate toggle helps free groups that sell paid courses. help.skool.com

Complaints

  • Trustpilot reviewer (Mar 2026) complains affiliates are hidden behind the $99/month Pro plan. trustpilot.com
  • Trustpilot reviewers (Mar and May 2026) report repeated charges after cancelling and no support response. trustpilot.com
  • Support cannot fix missed attribution: 'product support cannot re-assign/add affiliate attribution to any user at all'; fix is to remove and rejoin. help.skool.com
  • Changing the commission % applies to all current affiliates; Skool itself warns cutting it may 'damage your reputation'. help.skool.com

About Skool

In their words:
"Skool: Discover Communities or Create Your Own" (homepage title)
Company:
Founded 2019 · Los Angeles, California, US · Founded by Sam Ovens (CEO) and Daniel Kang (CTO); Alex Hormozi partnered with Skool in 2024 on The Skool Games
Team:
30 employees (About page)
Named customers:
AI Video Bootcamp (29.4k members, featured on Discovery), The Facebook Ads Blueprint (Skool Games winner)
Website:
skool.com

Try ViralPayouts on test money

Set your commission and recruiter override, see what each sale costs you, and run it on the test network before a real partner joins. No monthly fee.